The DUI traffic ticket laws vary from state to state, but not county to county in Florida. The penalties for a DUI can be harsh. The whole reason we have DUI laws is so that people won’t kill or hurt other drivers. Here is a plethora of information about DUI in Florida.
DUI PENALTIES IN FLORIDA
If you drink alcohol and drive you dramatically increase your chance of being in a crash. So say the experts. Florida has the “Implied Consent Law”. When you sign your drivers license you have agreed to take these tests upon request. Refusal to take any of the tests will result in an immediate suspension for one year. A second refusal will result in an 18 month suspension. But that is not the end of the story. You can request a lawyer which you are not entitled to, but at least you don’t appear to be stalling, you just want to speak to a lawyer. Also, you can challenge the suspension in a hearing before a hearing officer. Often times, we can get the suspension tossed. Also, can usually get a work permit so you can drive to work, school and church. Lastly, remember, if you are being asked to blow into a breathalyser, you are ALWAYS going to jail for the night. Even if you pass (under a .08), they will assume you have been taking drugs. Thus, if you are over a .08, don’t blow or you will almost certainly be convicted of DUI. A criminal conviction is way worse than a drivers license suspension.
SOME DUI STATS IN FLORIDA
In 2011, there were about 33,000 DUI convictions in Florida. There were 55,722 DUI tickets issued in Florida. That means that about 2/3 of the DUI traffic tickets given out were convictions. That was because most people just plead guilty to DUI. They don’t realize the harsh consequences until it is too late. Almost all of the people who we found not guilty of DUI hired an experienced DUI lawyer to help them fight back. Remember that the next time you get pulled over and handed a DUI traffic ticket. Miami Dade had about 2,500 DUI convictions last year. Palm Beach had about 1,500 and Broward County convicted about 1,000 people for DUI.
MISC PENLATIES FOR DUI THAT ARE BIG DEALS
Ignition Interlock:If you get a second DUI conviction (and sometimes a first time DUI), you will have an interlock installed on your car. This basically makes it so you can’t drive your car for a period of time. It also costs a few hundred dollars.
Under 21 DUI: If you are under 21 the legal limit to get your license taken away is .02. That means that if you have one drink, you will lose your license for a year if you are under 21.
Florida Penalties for DUI First Conviction: These are the penalties for a fist time DUI conviction, over 21 years of age in Florida: Fine – $250 to $500, Community Service – 50 Hours, Probation – Not more than 1 Year, Imprisonment – Not more than 6 Months Imprisonment, License Revocation – Minimum of 180 days and DUI School – 12 Hours. Since you will get a license suspension anyway if you are convicted, you should not blow if you are over a .08 and it’s your first time refusing.
In other blog posts, I have written about what to do if you get pulled over for a DUI. Every client is different but her are a few rules of thumb. First, don’t admit to drinking anything. Not even one beer. Second, be polite and don’t slur. You are being recorded and video tapped, so act accordingly. Third, don’t do the breath or road sides if you are drunk. You will fail and seal your fate. Just ask for a lawyer and try to look as sober as possible for the camera. Be respectfull and act afraid, not defiant. Lastly, if you get arrested for DUI, call me, Jason Diamond, immediately. Time is of the essence.